2019 General Municipal Election

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Englewood General Municipal Election
November 5, 2019

Candidate Information

Englewood residents interested in running for Englewood City Council November 5, 2019, may pick up candidate information packets beginning January 10, 2019 from the City Clerk's office, 1000 Englewood Parkway, third floor.  Candidate information packets will also be available on the City’s website.  If you would like to discuss the process please contact the Englewood City Clerk’s office to set up an appointment.  

All Municipal Elections are nonpartisan.

Voters will elect four Council members: a representative from District 1, District 3, and two At-Large, all for four-year terms. 

Members of Council select the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem from among their members.  The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem serve in that capacity for a two-year term.


Council Candidates 

At the time of the election a candidate must be a citizen of the United States, be 25 years of age or older and a registered elector of the City for at least one year immediately preceding the election.  Council members elected by Districts must also be residents and registered electors of their districts.  Candidates are required to sign an affidavit as to qualifications.  No Council member shall hold any other public office or employment for which compensation is paid from any municipality.  

Each candidate must be nominated by petition signed by at least fifty (50) registered electors residing within the municipality, or the District, from which the officer is to be elected.  The petitioning process takes place in August.  Only petitions obtained from the City Clerk’s office may be circulated.

Nomination Petitions will be available in the City Clerk’s office at 8:00 a.m. on August 6, 2019. 

August 26, 2019 is the last day to file nomination petitions and they must be received by the Englewood City Clerk, by 5:00 p.m.

It is vital that anyone interested in running for office contact the City Clerk’s office for information regarding the Colorado Fair Campaign Practices Act (FCPA).  Within 10 days after announcing your candidacy, file the "Candidate Affidavit" form with the Englewood City Clerk.  The "New Committee Registration Form" must be filed with the City Clerk before accepting a contribution or making an expenditure.

For further information please contact the City Clerk’s office, cityclerk@englewoodco.gov or you can reach us at 303-762-2405, 303-762-2429 or 303-762-2318.